Gippsland Portal

Gippsland Portal Feature:
Huge Celebrations For The Gippsland Portal Launch

A huge crowd gathered to help celebrate
A huge crowd gathered to help celebrate

Gippslanders come together to celebrate

By Emma Kae - 24th May 2002 - Back to News

Tell us your opinionSee what others have said

The journey to create Gippsland’s Premier Portal has certainly been a grand adventure, and we have learned much along the way. In our time we have discovered a knack for understanding our limits and exceeding them, bringing controversial topics to light, helping Gippslanders to establish themselves online, connecting hundreds of local people and getting them involved in the biggest Internet project Gippsland has ever seen. The finished product exceeded all expectations as we approached the official launch.

The Grand Unveiling: pictured above: Antony Svasek, Ian Maxfield, Marsha Thomson, Brendan Jenkins, and Glen Waterhouse.

Celebrating the success of the Gippsland Portal formally began today with the launch and commemorative plaque unveiling by Hon. Marsha Thomson, Minister for Small Business and ICT. The presentation was attended by the supporters, contributors and members of the Gippsland Portal, in addition to notaries Brendan Jenkins and Darrell White (councillors for Latrobe City) and Professor Brian Mackenzie (Pro Vice Chancellor for Monash University).

The Gippsland Portal Team, Ken from Federation Health and Pat from Members Credit Union (front, centre). 

The Gippsland Portal team would like to thank everyone that has been involved with the project and encourage ongoing participation from Gippslanders everywhere. The Gippsland Portal could not have achieved such success without the aid and enthusiasm of our supporters.


Minister Thomson - Minister for Small Business, Minister for Information & Communication Technology
Mr. Ian Maxfield - Member for Narracan
Cr. Brendan Jenkins - Mayor Latrobe City and Director for GREEN Inc
Mr. Joseph Cullen - CEO for East Gippsland Shire
Professor Mackenzie - Chairman for GREEN Inc and Pro Vice Chancellor for Monash University, Gippsland Campus


Hon Keith Hamilton - Minister for Agriculture & Aboriginal Affairs, Member for Morwell
Mr. Christian Zahra - Federal Member for McMillan
Senator Judith Troeth
Cr. Peter Bommer - Mayor East Gippsland Shire 
Cr. Ian Clark - Mayor Baw Baw Shire
Cr. Malcolm Hole - Mayor Wellington Shire
Mr. John Dyer - CEO Baw Baw Shire
Ms Paddy Nicholls - Director of GippsTAFE


Published by:

If you are the author of this story you can edit it by clicking here

There are no responses to this topic yet.
Start the discussion now

Note: To start the discussion you will have to login with your member account.

Related Articles

Let Emma add your News

Baw Baw Bass Coast Cardinia East Gippsland Latrobe City South Gippsland Wellington
© 2001-2021 Print this page | Email a friend this page | Subscribe to Newsletter | Feedback / Inquiries | Login
Edit Page | Edit Site | Uploader | Admin : 1.13 sec