Gippsland › Latest news › Gippsland Water

Tom Mollenkopf welcomed as new Board Chair with Jenny Selway and Katie Wyatt as Directors at Gippsland Water

Tom Mollenkopf assumes the role of Board Chair, while Jenny Selway and Katie Wyatt join as Directors at Gippsland Water, effective from October 1, 2023, enrich the organisation with a wealth of diverse experience.

By news@gippsland - 11th October 2023 - Back to News

Gippsland Water has a new Board Chair and two new Directors following an announcement by Minister for Water, Harriet Shing. Tom Mollenkopf AO has been appointed Board Chair, with Jenny Selway and Katie Wyatt appointed as Directors. Managing director Sarah Cumming welcomed the three appointments and said she looked forward to working with the new Board Chair and Directors.

New Board Chair Tom Mollenkopf with Managing director Sarah Cumming

New Board Chair Tom Mollenkopf with Managing director Sarah Cumming

New board members' expertise

Ms Cumming said, "We feel very fortunate to have three new members with such impressive experience and diverse viewpoints joining us at Gippsland Water. The new Board Chair Tom Mollenkopf's extensive experience includes executive and CEO roles in the water and environment sector as well as advising government, NGO and private sector clients within Australia and internationally."

"We also welcome Jenny Selway as a Director. She has a passion for decarbonisation with over 20 years of experience as an Engineer and Non-Executive Director, primarily in the energy sector. Also joining us is Katie Wyatt, who is the current Head of Diversity and Inclusion at the Coles group and has more than 20 years of leadership and business experience. She is a proud Noongar Yamatje woman from Whadjuk Noongar country," Ms Cumming said.

New Chair's excitement

Board Chair Tom Mollenkopf said he felt privileged and excited to be appointed to the role. "Gippsland Water is an organisation with an enviable reputation in the community and among its peers in the water sector. Water plays such a critical role in the economic, environmental, and social wellbeing of our communities, and I am pleased to have the chance to continue to contribute."

"Ensuring we can efficiently and effectively deliver water services is a key enabler in our region. I look forward to working with the team at Gippsland Water and the community to make that happen," Mr Mollenkopf said.

Legacy of outgoing leadership

Ms Cumming acknowledged the work of the outgoing Board Chair, Therese Ryan and her legacy. "Therese helped steer the organisation to reach some extraordinary achievements, particularly her commitment to safety, which has seen us exceed the ambitious safety targets she strongly pushed for,"

"The impressive legacy she leaves includes an increased focus on customers, safety, long-term financial sustainability, innovation and investment in our people. Her trust in our organisation saw key strategic priorities being realised like the recent bulk water entitlement from the Tarago Reservoir for Drouin and Warragul."

"Outgoing Deputy Chair Greg Hade and Director Jane Oakley helped shape good governance and the strategic direction of the organisation and we thank them for their commitment and passion," she said. The new Board Chair and Directors appointments commence from October 1, 2023.

Pictures from Gippsland Water website.


Published by:

Edit this news article

Baw Baw Bass Coast Cardinia East Gippsland Latrobe City South Gippsland Wellington
© 2001-2024 Print this page | Subscribe to Newsletter | Feedback / Inquiries | Login
Care has been taken in compiling the component parts of this website. However, does not warrant or represent that the website is free from errors or omissions, that the qualifications claimed by an advertiser are valid or that the published details of any advertiser are as stated on the website. Please review the full statement of our Terms and Conditions of Service and disclaimer.