Gippsland Portal

Latest News

Add My News • Search Old News

The Nationals Announce Upper House Teams For Northern Victoria and Eastern Victoria

Two new candidates join existing Upper House members.

By Portal Admin - 22nd October 2018 - Back to News

The Nationals have today announced two new candidates who will join our existing Upper House members fighting to deliver a better deal for regional Victoria at the 2018 State Election.

Killawarra’s Emma Williamson is standing for a seat in the Legislative Council, or Upper House, on The Nationals ticket, alongside The Nationals Member for Northern Victoria Luke O’Sullivan.

Mrs Williamson grew up in Shepparton and now runs a cattle and sheep farm near Wangaratta with her husband Simon and their children.

She is also a registered nurse and is juggling running the farm with her job managing a community aged care program and completing a Master’s degree in health administration.

"I am really passionate about ensuring all Victorians have access to quality healthcare no matter where they live, and I know The Nationals in Government can deliver that," she said.

In Eastern Victoria, Latrobe City Councillor Darren Howe is vying for an Upper House seat alongside The Nationals Member for Eastern Victoria Melina Bath.

Mr Howe is a long-term Traralgon resident, and in addition to his Latrobe City Council work, runs the Seymour Street Newsagency.

He is also a former president of the Traralgon Chamber of Commerce and Industry and is passionate about decentralisation and tackling unemployment.

"So many of our regional communities have been doing it really tough under Labor, so we need The Nationals in Government to deliver sustainable growth and prevent the kind of job losses Daniel Andrews has presided over," he said.

The Nationals Victorian State President Neil Pankhurst said Mrs Williamson and Mr Howe are strong additions to The Nationals team.

"Over the years, I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know both Mrs Williamson and Mr Howe through their involvement working for our communities with The Nationals and I am certain both can deliver a better deal for regional Victoria," Mr Pankhurst said.

"Mrs Williamson and Mr Howe, like all The Nationals MPs and our other fantastic candidates, are passionate about seeing our communities not just survive but thrive.

"We have a clear plan to make all our regional towns and cities better places to live, work and play, and I am thrilled to have Ms Williamson and Mr Howe on board to help deliver it."

The Nationals upper house MPs/candidates will appear at the following positions on the Liberal Nationals ballots.

Other positions will be occupied by Liberal MPs/candidates.

Northern Victoria:

2: Luke O'Sullivan MP
4: Emma Williamson

Eastern Victoria:

2: Melina Bath MP
5: Darren Howe

Western Victoria:

3: Jo Armstrong
5: Andrew Black


Published by:

If you are the author of this story you can edit it by clicking here

Related Articles






Baw Baw Bass Coast Cardinia East Gippsland Latrobe City South Gippsland Wellington
© 2001-2019 Print this page | Subscribe to Newsletter | Feedback / Inquiries | Login
Care has been taken in compiling the component parts of this website. However, does not warrant or represent that the website is free from errors or omissions, that the qualifications claimed by an advertiser are valid or that the published details of any advertiser are as stated on the website. Please review the full statement of our Terms and Conditions of Service and disclaimer.