Gippsland Portal

Latrobe Local News:
Australia Day Awards 2001 – only one week left to nominate

Nominations sought for Latrobe City’s Australia Day Awards, 2001.

By Latrobe City Council - 6th December 2000 - Back to News

Tell us your opinionSee what others have said

Nominations are being sought from the community for Latrobe City’s Australia Day Awards, 2001.

Latrobe City Mayor, Councillor Tony Hanning, called on the community to identify citizens who had made a particularly positive contribution to the community so that their work could be recognised.

“The Australia Day Awards present us with the opportunity to acknowledge the efforts and hard work that many in the community are involved in. Often their work is unpaid and voluntary, yet plays a vital role in the health, welfare and well being of the community,” Cr Hanning said.

“If you know of someone who clearly gives all a fair go, has strong community values, cares for the environment, participates in sport, or commits themselves to community projects, please nominate them.”

Awards from previous years include Keith Brownbill for his services to U3A and commitment to the community with numerous organisations; Jean Tops for her dedication and commitment to caring for the blind and disabled; James (Jim) Knowles for his 20 years service to the Yinnar South Country Fair; Lydia Teychenne for her contribution to local youth music programs; Benjamin van Poppel for his commitment to Lifeline as a counsellor; and Jenny Farrar for involvement and commitment to student and community activities at Monash Gippsland.

Events that have received an Australia Day award include the Morwell Centenary Rose Garden’s ‘Roses in Bloom’, the International 6-Day Enduro, and the Wings and Wheels and Fine Foods Expo.

Nominations are being invited for the following Awards in 2001:

Citizen of the Year - person must be 27 years or older on January 26, 2001

Young Citizen of the Year – person must be under 27 years on January 26, 2001

Community Event of the Year - presented to the person/group who has staged the most outstanding community event during the year.

“If you know of any citizen who deserves recognition of their service to the community, or if you would like to nominate a community event worthy of being recognised, please call in to your local Latrobe City Citizen Service Centre and ask for a nomination form,” Cr Hanning added.

Nomination forms can also be requested by telephoning Latrobe City on 1300 367 700. All nominations must be accompanied with the name of at least one referee and close Wednesday 6 December 2000. Winners of the awards will be announced on Australia Day, 26 January 2001.

Photo: Winner of the Australia Day 2000 Young Citizen of the Year Award, Benjamin van Poppel

Media Enquiries:

Cr. Tony Hanning, Mayor, Latrobe City
tel. 0417 373 577

Cr. Brendan Jenkins, Deputy Mayor, Latrobe City
tel. 0417 374 590

Ms. Penny Holloway, Chief Executive Officer,
tel. 5173 1401 or 0417 557 103

Jeremy Bein, Public Relations and Communications Officer,
tel. 5173 1468


Published by:

If you are the author of this story you can edit it by clicking here

There are no responses to this topic yet.
Start the discussion now

Note: To start the discussion you will have to login with your member account.

Related Articles

Let Emma add your News

Baw Baw Bass Coast Cardinia East Gippsland Latrobe City South Gippsland Wellington
© 2001-2021 Print this page | Email a friend this page | Subscribe to Newsletter | Feedback / Inquiries | Login
Edit Page | Edit Site | Uploader | Admin : 1.33 sec