Gippsland Portal

Gippsland Sports:
Bundy Wins Premiers Cup Final

The latest news from the SMCA

By Neil Purdy - 2nd December 2002 - Back to News

Tell us your opinionSee what others have said

The Bundalaguah Cricket Club (Sale-Maffra Cricket Association) achieved their second Gippsland Cricket Premiers Cup title against Latrobe Cricket Club (Central Gippsland Cricket Association) at Latrobe's homeground - Maryvale Recreation Reserve today. Set a score of 8/168 in 50 overs by Latrobe, Bundalaguah achieved 5/169 in their 42nd over to claim victory.

Electing to bat first on an excellently prepared batting strip, Latrobe found themselves in early bother being 3/13 after 5 overs with Steve Freshwater (0), Jamie Coltman (0) and Robert Fox (5) all back in the pavilion. Ian Wrigglesworth grabbing two wickets, with Fox being run out.

This brought experienced players Anthony Bloomfield and Latrobe Skipper Kris Wells together - their partnership produced 40 consolidating runs when further misfortune struck with Bloomfield (33) being caught behind off Zimmer - Latrobe 4/53. Then the hard-hitting Corey Dobson (1) soon followed bowled by Nick Fowler - Latrobe 5/54 off 20 overs and on the brink of disaster.

Kris Wells (72) then displayed his leadership and fighting qualities in a partnership with young Brian Vizard (22) that took the score to 147 in the 44th over - 93 runs in 24 overs. Both players were dismissed on this score. Wells' innings was one of patience early and later on hard-hitting aggression, he accumulated six 4's and one 6. Vizard was patient and played the perfect supporting role; their efforts had revived a level of competitiveness in Latrobe's score.

Tim Cranwell (11no) and Michael Mooney (9) helped take the score to 8/168 after 50 overs - a somewhat challenging and competitive score considering Latrobe's earlier predicaments, they had recovered well.

Bundalaguah's wicket takers included Ian Wrigglesworth with 3/25 off 10 overs, Nick Fowler 2/36 off 10 overs, Steve Zimmer 1/14 off 10 overs and Trevor Wrigglesworth 1/29 off 9 overs. Unfortunately their catching attempts left a little to be desired.

After the Luncheon break Bundalaguah commenced its run pursuit poorly with Trevor Wrigglesworth (3) being bowled by Mooney - Bundalaguah 1/5.
Bundalaguah then produced a series of consolidating partnerships - the solid-hitting Scott Morris (22) with Matthew Johns took the score to 2/49 in the14th over; then Johns (33) and Geoff Abrahall continued the score to 3/81 in the 25th over.

At this stage the game was still in the balance but Bundalaguah's batting depth looked formidable, could Latrobe get the vital break-throughs?

Abrahall was joined at wicket by the potentially big-hitting, fast-scoring left-hander Geoff Wells - his aggression on the bowling proved successful as their partnership plied 71 runs in just 13 overs. Wells' innings, concluded by the excellent catch of Robert Fox at fine-leg, contributed 52 off 38 balls with five 4's and two 6's and had swung the pendulum of the game in Bundalaguah's favour with the score on 4/152 in the 38th over.

Latrobe quickly claimed the wicket of Jake Milham (1) - 5/153 off 39 overs and their faint hopes of victory flickered.

Not so as the experienced and elegant Geoff Abrahall (42no) took control and with support from Nathan Fowler (3no) they furnished the remaining 16 runs in the next 3 overs - Bundalaguah 5/169 after 42overs.

Abrahall's innings had given the necessary guidance and direction the Bundalaguah innings required. With healthy contributions from Wells, Johns and Morris, and the batting talents of Ian Wrigglesworth, Greg Wrigglesworth and Glenn Moon still in reserve, the strength of Bundalaguah proved overwhelming.

The Latrobe boys had toiled hard in the field and proved worthy representatives of their club and Association. Wicket takers included Brian Vizard 2/48 off 10 overs, Kris Wells 1/10 off 6 overs, Anthony Bloomfield 1/26 off 10 overs and Michael Mooney 1/31 off 6 overs.

The Umpires, Adrian Fairley and Peter Spence (from the Traralgon Association) adjudged the Man-o-Match to be Kris Wells (Latrobe) for his efforts of 72 with the bat and 1/10 with the ball.

This is Bundalaguah's second success in this competition, their first being in 1999-2000 against Hallora (Warragul & District Cricket Association); they also receive Kookaburra Sport's cheque of $400.

Gippsland Cricket acknowledges and thanks Kookaburra Sport for their support in the running of this competition.


Published by:

If you are the author of this story you can edit it by clicking here

There are no responses to this topic yet.
Start the discussion now

Note: To start the discussion you will have to login with your member account.

Related Articles

Let Emma add your News

Baw Baw Bass Coast Cardinia East Gippsland Latrobe City South Gippsland Wellington
© 2001-2021 Print this page | Email a friend this page | Subscribe to Newsletter | Feedback / Inquiries | Login
Edit Page | Edit Site | Uploader | Admin : 1.00 sec